sam.png
Everyone loves a good Book Boyfriend.
Everyone is going to love Liam.
Heck, *I* love Liam.
But he’s Annabelle’s.
He totally, completely belongs to Annabelle.
And this is one book chick *I wouldn’t fight*.  Because I *love* her.  Now THAT is rare – I am happy when a heroine doesn’t irritate me, let alone when I actually like her.  But this girl – she’s FUNNY – that dry, witty, snarky humor withOUT being a witch to the hero – and withOUT being a witch to the hero, you see she is also tough as nails.
Is she an invincible super-girl?  No.  No, she is not.  She is just a woman in a really, really rotten situation, and she’s coping, and still bucking it for all she’s worth, even when she knows she’s going to lose:
‘My stomach feels tight.  Sick.  I won’t have an attack in front of him.  He’ll see it as weakness, and as far as he’s concerned, I’m motherfucking Sparta.
In my mind, at least.
I don’t really care what I look like in his.’
And???  What impressed me THE MOST?   This is a mafia romance, you know that if you blurbed it, and as a mafia romance, bad things happen, right?  And when bad things happen in (bad) movies and (bad) tv shows, the heroine sometimes (always) gets put in danger (or jumps into it – because she’s an idiot) and then she compounds it by doing STUPID things that you are screaming at your tv/kindle/spouse, telling the character “NO DON’T GO-“
and she does
and: “No don’t do-“
And she does.
But get this??  Annabelle ISN’T A STUPID TWIT!!!  IT WAS SO REFRESHING.
I freaking clapped.  I kid you not.  I highlighted and noted all over this copy (which by the way, the author sent to me, and herebe my review) and said things like “BRILLIANT”  and “THANK YOU FOR NOT DOING THAT” and “Whoa!  Now that… was NOT EXPECTING…”
The dialogue was a treat, there are few things as sad as a fabulous plot but stagnant, unimaginative lines — thou shalt not suffer that pain here.
Back to Liam.
I am so happy when the hero is basically Thor AND saves battered women and when he realizes he’s desperately in love with the h and doesn’t want her to be afraid of him.  (No worries, Liam.  She’s sooo not.)
I am also happy when the hero has a hot brother.
A hot brother who does not have a woman yet.
And I haven’t been written into a book yet…
Just sayin’.
On strong recommendations I snapped up the Irreparable set to devour next.  And it’s official.  This author just shot to my “WHEN IS HER NEXT BOOK COMING OUT????!” list.
